DEC Wildlife Management Unit Maps Electronically Available For Central New York

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Region 7/Central New York office is providing maps on its website for the first time that depict the boundaries of wildlife management units (WMUs) and state lands available for hunting within the units.  The central New York region encompasses Broome, Cayuga, Cortland, Chenango, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Tioga and Tompkins counties.

 The maps are an excellent tool for hunters who are applying for deer management permits for harvesting antlerless deer.  They can easily gauge where state and private lands lie within each WMU.  The maps are available at

 “The addition of the Region 7 WMU Maps to the DEC website provide a wealth of information for sportsmen and sportswomen,” said DEC Regional Director Kenneth Lynch.  “This greater accessibility provides ease in planning, assisting hunters in making decisions about hunting locations.”

 The new page on DEC’s website also provides links to “Places to Hunt in Region 7 by WMU”   This page provides a list of all state lands located in each wildlife management unit, a description of the area and a map and directions to the property. 

 Descriptions, directions and maps of state-owned wildlife management areas (WMAs) are also provided on the website for the region at  State forest lands with similar information are found at Collectively these web pages provide a wealth of   information for hunters in central New York.   For further information on resources found in Region 7/Central New York go to