Oswego County Historical Society to Host a Guided Tour of the Historic Riverside Cemetery on June 11

OSWEGO — The Oswego County Historical Society, along with the Friends of Riverside Cemetery, will host a guided cemetery tour of the historic Riverside Cemetery at 4024 County Route 57, Oswego, on Sunday, June 11 at 1:30 pm. The event is free and open to the public. Pre-registration is recommended due to limited space within tour buses. To sign up, contact the Richardson-Bates House Museum by phone at 315-343-1342.

The Riverside Cemetery was incorporated in 1855, and situated just outside the Oswego city line. It was designed as a rural cemetery by landscape architect Burton Arnold Thomas. In the mid-19th century rural cemeteries became a popular choice for a final resting place in a park-like setting on the outskirts of town. This was opposite the earlier condensed cemeteries which outgrew space in growing neighborhoods. Also referred to as a garden style, the rural cemeteries were seen as places to visit and enjoy the landscape along with the artistry of the monuments.

The guided tour will highlight various sites throughout the cemetery, which will feature anecdotes about many prominent figures in Oswego history. For its significant historical relevance, the cemetery was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

The cemetery tour will begin at the Page Memorial Chapel located at the main entrance of the cemetery.

The chapel was built in 1906 in memory of Alanson and Elsie (Benson) Page as a gift from their family. The stone building was designed by Philadelphia architect Fielding Mantle in the Gothic Revival style. The stunning interior windows were designed by Frederick Wilson. a lead designer of Tiffany Studios of New York City.

The Friends of Riverside Cemetery is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the physical beauty of the historic non-sectarian cemetery. The Friends of Riverside Cemetery helps to raise additional funds outside of the annual budget to complete large projects, including the ongoing restoration of the Page Memorial Chapel.

The Oswego County Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the rich history of the county. The society maintains and operates the Richardson-Bates House Museum, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The museum is open to the public Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 1-5 pm, and other days by appointment. For more information call the museum during regular hours at 315-343-1342.

The Oswego County Historical Society, along with the Friends of Riverside Cemetery, will host a guided cemetery tour of the historic Riverside Cemetery at 4024 County Route 57, Oswego, on Sunday, June 12 at 1:30 pm. The event is free and open to the public. Pre-registration is recommended due to limited space within tour buses. To sign up, contact the Richardson-Bates House Museum by phone at 315-343-1342. Pictured is an early photograph of the Page Memorial Chapel, located at the entrance of the cemetery. The Gothic Style chapel was built in 1906 in memory of Alanson and Elsie (Benson) Page.